Mindless Marketing Monikers: Limited & Unlimited


Jeep Wrangler Sahara UNLIMITED

Jeep Wrangler Sahara UNLIMITED (honest, but stupid)

Perhaps I am not your average consumer, having spent most of my career as a marketing professional, but certain product names elicit a wry smirk from me.  The words “Limited” and “Unlimited” are two such examples.  I was reminded of this recently when I parked my car, looked out the window, and saw a Jeep Wrangler Sahara Unlimited parked beside me (see photo).  As an aside, I believe there is a point where the name of the product gets way too long.  Here, we have Make/Model/Version followed by the aforementioned senseless “Unlimited”.  While “Limited” and “Unlimited” are both hollow and meaningless names, “Unlimited” is clearly the dumber of the two.  If you buy something that is “Limited” and you are naive enough to believe that companies will not make as many as they can possibly sell, you might feel that you are one of the chosen few who get to experience the pleasure of owning one.  Exclusivity is coveted by many consumers.  However, if you buy something with “Unlimited” emblazoned on its visible brand signature, you are basically saying that your product is so commonplace and easy to attain that any dolt can get one.  Implicit, as well, is that you are one of those dolts.  Congratulations.

6 responses to “Mindless Marketing Monikers: Limited & Unlimited

  1. And don’t forget that back in the days of Datsun (Nissan) they named a car the Cherry…..

    Like

  2. Breaks my soul every time I make the connection that I have fallen into a simple but effective marketing ploy.

    Limited edition gets me every time!

    Like

  3. Maybe they want customers to think that there are no limits to what they can do with a Jeep–including go into debt filling up the tank…Not a very effective marketing strategy, but did you really think that marketing and rationality were somehow linked?

    Like

    • Nope. I am never one to assume that marketing and rationality are linked. Humans are irrational. Herein lies the challenge AND opportunity for marketers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

