Cell Phones Advance Faster Than Common Sense


Roger's iPhone 3G Launch - Canada's First iPho...

We Love Our Phones! Yes We Do! (Image by Anirudh Koul via Flickr)

With technological advances come new dilemmas for mankind to consider.  Few examples of this phenomenon are as clear as the cell phone.  Once a novelty, the latest statistics suggest that 80-90% of all Americans (not just adults) use cell phones, and an increasing share of them are so-called “smartphones”, capable of accessing the Internet.  Aside from the known hazards of driving, walking, or doing just about anything else while using a cell phone, there is the fundamental question of what RIGHTS a person has to use his or her cell phone.  A Constitutional expert I am not, but most arguments in favor of unrestrained cell phone usage seem to hinge on the First Amendment right to free speech.  Difficult as it may be in a litigious society, it seems like common sense ought to solve most of these dilemmas.  Unfortunately, it has not.  Instead, our prisons are constantly on the lookout, not for drugs or weapons, but for cell phones used to orchestrate crimes from behind bars over airwaves that cannot legally be blocked.  Restaurant and theater owners who install signal blockers are found to be criminals.  Law abiding citizens using public transportation have found their cell phone service intentionally blocked.  When does the madness end?

4 responses to “Cell Phones Advance Faster Than Common Sense

  1. I’m at a loss for what to say as I type this on my laptop, cell phone (the dumb kind) by my side, my DVR taping a show I will watch later so I can zoom past the commercials, and Netflix ready to stream films I want to watch right to my too-large HD TV. God, what’s happened to the simple little girl who loved the whirl of the dial telephone?

    I think I’ll go read my Kindle to take my mind off all this technology stuff…

    Like

    • Ah, yes. We love our gadgets, and cell phones are only just the start. As much as we might reminisce about the days of old, they aren’t coming back. Sure, life has gotten more complicated, but most of us prefer to keep the neat stuff, even if it adds to the chaos. Keep readin’ and commentin’! –Dan

      Like

  2. I still remember when you wrote a letter and waited for a reply

    Like

Leave a Reply

