Guilt Tripped by a Cash Register!


Forest

Is it worth $1 to you, or are you too selfish?

So there I was scanning my must-have stuff in the self-checkout lane at IKEA.  Funny how less human interaction is preferred by many, while we all stand in line talking, tweeting, or Facebooking on our cell phones.  But I digress.  I got to the end of my scanning, and I was ready to pay.  BUT WAIT!  The friendly checkout terminal first needed to ask me to donate $1 to plant a tree.  Given the number of trees that give their lives to assemble-at-home furniture sold by IKEA, I suppose this is IKEA’s way of clearing their conscience.  But all I had in the cart was a bunch of molded plastic–no wood this time.  I figured I would choose “NO”.  But that option wasn’t available, only “NO TREE”.  Somehow, choosing “NO TREE” made me feel like a real jerk.  I’ll bet they could increase donations further by rephrasing the “NO” button to one of these options:

  • NO, I AM A SICK BASTARD WITH NO CONSCIENCE.
  • NO, I VALUE $1 MORE THAN RESTORING EARTH’S ECOSYSTEM.
  • NO, BUM A BUCK OFF THE NEXT PERSON IN LINE.
  • NO, IF TREES WERE ON LIFE SUPPORT, I’D PULL THE PLUG.
  • NO, I HAVE HIT MY DEBT CEILING.
7 responses to “Guilt Tripped by a Cash Register!

  1. Then again, they could just plant the trees themselves and write it off to cost of sales. I object to companies that can well afford to donate to charities and the like, attempting to wring more money from their customers (e.g. Virgin Atlantic)

    Like

    • Good point. Similarly, companies take credit all the time for how much money they give to United Way when, in reality, it was their employees who were coerced into giving the money. I stopped giving to United Way many years ago. I choose my own charitable causes. I don’t like the concept of a charitable giving conglomerate. By definition, they cannot be as efficient with their money. Thanks for reading and commenting. –Dan

      Like

  2. I’m shaking my head and giving you a ‘teacher look’ right now. I’m allowed – I’m tutting too. 🙂

    Brilliantly written.
    How did I find your blog? I’m loving it.
    I might have to share this post now.

    Like

    • Flattery I can handle. Thank you. Please do share with others. The more people laugh, the more I write. I am like a dog in a psychology experiment, just hoping to earn another treat. –Dan

      Like

  3. Мамонтово
    61011753

    Like

Leave a Reply

