Am I Wrong for Not Giving 2 Shits About the Middle East?


Middle East Map

Image via Wikipedia

Given the headline, some might assume that I am uneducated, ignorant, or unworldly.  On the contrary, I graduated at the top of my high school class, I earned my college degree with a 4.0 GPA (proud enough to still mention it 16 years later!), and I do, in fact, stay tuned to what is going on in the world.  The problem I have with the Middle East is that it’s the same old broken record–corrupt governments, militant societies, dictatorships, monarchies, and pseudo-democracies filled with people who have a penchant for scrapping with one another over territories under the guise of religion.  So I generalize!  Israel, Palestine, Gaza Strip, West Bank, Iran, Iraq, Syria, Hamas, Al-Qaeda, Taliban, Kurds, blah, blah, blah.  When I hear these words, I just tune out.  It’s like the teacher on the old Charlie Brown cartoons—“wawawa, wawawa, wawawa.”  For the media, it’s like a Monica Lewinsky scandal that just keeps on giving, for generations and generations, but who is listening?  I love NPR, but I would REALLY love it if they would drop the Middle East crap.  Enough!  If any of them ever threaten us, just unleash the mushroom bombs.  Until then, I DON’T GIVE A DAMN!

Leave a Reply

