One Warranty You Will NEVER Need!


baby's new mattress

Image by Liz (perspicacious.org) via Flickr

I was changing the sheets on one of our kids’ crib mattresses a couple of weeks ago, when I happened to catch a glimpse of that large, permanent sticker that goes on every mattress.  You know, it is the one that tells you the brand name, model, and usually something about the features of the mattress.  Granted, I had purchased this crib mattress a couple of years ago, but I never really spent much time looking at the sticker.  What I saw was completely ridiculous.  Being a marketing guy myself, I could only wonder WHAT Sealy must have been thinking.  Before I spoil the surprise, consider for yourself what a reasonable warranty length would be for a crib mattress–2 years, 3 years, 5 years max?  That’s what I figured, but this one comes with a 35 YEAR WARRANTY!  Being a skeptic, I immediately thought about what sorts of conditions apply to such a warranty.  Can you see a consumer raising cane 34 years after buying a crib mattress because it failed.  First of all, WHY ON EARTH are you still using the mattress?  Second of all, your kid has been out of college for 10 years.  Everything wears out, FOR CRYING OUT LOUD!

Leave a Reply

