The Awakening of a Last Adopter


Free twitter badge

Image via Wikipedia

Whereas some people are “first adopters”–those who glom onto the latest gadget, software, or other technology–I am proudly of the opposite bent–a “last adopter.”  I am skeptical about the redeeming value of new stuff compared to my trusty and crusty solution.  Eventually, I come around.  As much as I hate to admit it, I am now a Twitter believer.  It is life changing.  Last night’s events with the death of Bin Laden were the proverbial nail in the coffin of old media, in my book.  Here is how my night transpired:

  • Call Mom to chat.  Learn that she and Dad are watching TV, as they heard that Bin Laden was killed.
  • “Call you later, Mom.”  Quick hang up and grab the TV remote.
  • Turn on CNN.  Listen to John King and Wolf Blitzer drone on and on with nothing to say for an hour as they wait for Obama to come to the podium.  Wow are they bad unscripted!
  • Pull out my iPhone and tune into Twitter.  Wow!  I was dying of thirst, and I had arrived at the oasis–lush with live, unscripted, uncensored, informative, funny, and diverse perspectives from real people around the country and the world.  Amazing.
Leave a Reply

