One More Reason NOT to Like Barry Manilow


Barry Manilow live at the Xcel Energy Center i...

Image via Wikipedia

OK, so most people already have enough reasons to dislike Barry Manilow, but his music reminds me of my childhood, which I occasionally wish to remember with a song or two.  For these rare occasions, I created a Barry Manilow station on my Pandora iPhone app.  Barry’s bio on Pandora revealed one of his dirty little secrets.  You have all heard these lyrics…

I write the songs that make the whole world sing.
I write the songs of love and special things.
I write the songs that make the young girls cry.
I write the songs, I write the songs.

I am calling you out right here and now, Barry.  YOU DIDN’T WRITE THE DAMN SONG!  It was written by Bruce Johnston of the Beach Boys, FOR CRYING OUT LOUD!  So, in respect of Bruce, I hereby request that you sing the following lyrics FROM NOW ON…

I write SOME OTHER songs that make the whole world sing.
I write SOME OTHER songs of love and special things.
I write SOME OTHER songs that make the young girls cry.
I write SOME OTHER songs, I write SOME OTHER songs.

Nice ring to it!  Catchy, like “Copacabana”!

Leave a Reply

