Who Knew: The Complexities of Replacing a Toilet


A flushing toilet.

Image via Wikipedia

After 6 years in our brand new home, my wife and I have come to accept that nothing is built to last anymore.  In fact, we are convinced that most things are built to self-destruct shortly after the warranty expires.  Not so long ago, the first of our 4 toilets (children starving in Africa, and we have 4 TOILETS!) took a dump (pun fully intended).  Never one to be sold quickly, especially by a plumber whose crack is displayed prominently as he works, I decided to do my own research first.  So, off to Home Depot I went.  WOW!  HOURS LATER, I had learned about all the key features/differentiators:

  • Bowl Shape (Round/Oval): As the plumber told me, oval ones give guys more room for, well, you know.
  • Flush Power: I bought the one that can flush down “A BUCKET OF GOLF BALLS!” (or the VERY BIG POOP equivalent, I surmised)
  • Seat Height: Standard rim is 15″ from the floor.  Deluxe height is 16.5″ from the floor.  Big whoop!
  • Surface Coatings: What better surface to prey on irrational fears about bacterial and mold than A TOILET!
  • One-Piece vs. Two-Piece: Simple.  One hunk of porcelain is more expensive than two hunks connected together.  Buy the two-piece.
2 responses to “Who Knew: The Complexities of Replacing a Toilet

  1. I had no idea the complexities of the toilet… Now I do.
    Thanks

    Like

  2. Pingback: Replacing a Toilet? Small Bathroom Renovation | San Jose - The Solera Group — The Solera Group

Leave a Reply

